Hosted by the Business Network for Offshore Wind. Visit our main webpage.


2023 Ventus Awards JUDGES

Reuven Carlyle

Reuven Carlyle

State Sen. Reuven Carlyle (Ret) is a founder of Earth Finance, a global climate strategy and investment firm and former Washington State Legislator (2009-2023). He is the architect of the most comprehensive state-level climate package in the United States. In partnership with Gov. Jay Inslee, the sweeping agenda was adopted under his leadership as chair of the state Senate Environment, Energy & Technology Committee (2016-2023).

This comprehensive suite of legislation includes: Cap & invest carbon pricing (Climate Commitment Act), 100% clean energy (Clean Energy Transformation Act), low carbon fuel standard, environmental justice and equity policy (Healthy Environment for All Act), Native American tribal government-to-government consultation, building efficiency requirements, super pollutant regulation, renewable energy facility siting, electrification of transportation, utility moderation and more.

As a result of this work, Washington is now the only state in the nation with binding, enforceable commitments to science-based targets and the Paris Agreement with an enterprise-wide carbon market to reach those goals.
Sen. Carlyle serves on the board of directors of Toptana Technologies, a broadband company owned by the Quinalt Indian Nation of Washington state. He has a B.A. from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, and an MPA from the Harvard Kennedy School of Government.

Angelina Galiteva

Angelina Galiteva

Angelina M. Galiteva is the Founder and Board Chair of Renewables 100 Policy Institute an organization dedicated to accelerating the global transition to 100% renewable energy. In 2011 Ms. Galiteva was appointed by Governor Jerry Brown to the California Independent Systems Operator Board (CAISO), one of the largest transmission operators in the United States, where she became the first female Chair of the Board. Governor Gavin Newsom reappointed Ms. Galiteva on February 21, 2023 to a fifth term on the California Independent System Operator (ISO) Board of Governors. Ms. Galiteva also serves as Chairperson of the World Council for Renewable Energy (WCRE) and is a Board Member of the Global Clean Energy Desalination Alliance. Ms. Galiteva is an expert in strategic issues related to renewable energy, environmental, efficiency and overall sustainable policy programs for public and private entities.

In addition, Ms. Galiteva is founder and Principal of NEOptions, Inc., a renewable energy product and project development firm. She is also CEO of the Alliance for Renewable Clean Hydrogen Energy Systems (ARCHES). Previously, Ms. Galiteva was the Executive Director of Strategic Planning, for the City of Los Angeles Department of Water and Power (LADWP), overseeing the utility’s renewable energy program. Ms. Galiteva, is an attorney with a JD and Masters’ of Law Degrees in International, and Energy Law.


Peter Rothstein

Peter Rothstein

Peter Rothstein is the former President of the Northeast Clean Energy Council (NECEC), a leading Northeast clean energy business member and regional thought leadership nonprofit. During his over 10 years (2010 to 2022) as president, he grew NECEC’s staff, budget, membership and partnerships across more than a dozen cleantech sectors from startups to emerging companies and segment leaders. Also during his tenure, NECEC became widely recognized for its policy and regulatory advocacy and initiatives, its regional innovation cluster initiatives, and for stakeholder convenings to advance the Northeast clean energy economy. He remains active in the company as a board member.

Peter’s experience includes being a member of the National Academies of Sciences committee and co-authoring a 2016 report on the “Power of Change,” on strategies for an increasingly clean energy system. He also led planning for NECEC’s 2020s Decade of Action strategy to accelerate the Northeast’s transition to a leading regional clean energy economy.

Dr. Dan Arvizu

Dr. Dan Arvizu

Chancellor, 28th Chief Executive of the New Mexico State University System
Dennis Hayes

Denis Hayes

CEO, Bullitt Foundation

Rose McKinney-James

Managing Principal, McKinney-James & Associates and Energy Works LLC

Matt Petersen

President and CEO, Los Angeles Cleantech Incubator
the offshore wind Industry

Judging on Merit

Ventus Award winners are chosen by a jury representing the expertise and breadth of the offshore wind industry.